International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine
Académie Internationale de Médecine Aéronautique et Spatiale

Aviation Medicine Scholarship

The International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine has a well-established Scholarship Programme, the aims of which are to enable young physicians commencing a career in aerospace medicine to undertake training in the specialty. The Scholarship can be used to facilitate attendance at a formal training course, or participation in a work programme (one year or more, structured towards educational goals) in a recognized aerospace medicine institute. The scholarship is currently US $ 20,000.00 but amounts less than this may be awarded in any year, depending on the detail of the applications received.

The following links represent some of the institutions that offer postgraduate training or work programme in Aviation Medicine:

- Wright State University (the Division of Aerospace Medicine will close in 2019 and is no longer accepting applications)

- King's College UK

- University of Otago

- University of Texas Medical Branch

- Civil Aviation Medicine Institute FAA

- Mayo Clinic

The recipient of the Scholarship for 2011 was Dr. Nathan Buila from D.R. Congo. He completed his studies at Wright State University. Dr. Buila has now returned in his country and is very active in aviation medicine.

The recipient of the Scholarship for 2012 was Dr. Sandra Liliana Jimenez-Restrepo from Colombia. She completed her studies at the National University of Colombia.

The recipient of the Scholarship for 2013 was Dr. Sholeh Bazrafshan Kondori from Iran. She undertook the Aerospace Medicine Master program at Wright State University in 2015.

The recipient of the Scholarships for 2014 was Dr. Issaka Yakubu Akparibo, from Ghana. He completed the MS in Aerospace Medicine at Wright State University in 2016 and is hoping to establish a new flight medicine clinic in Ghana..

In 2014, the Academy also accepted a request for a short course in Aviation Medicine and gave a Scholarship to Dr Alexander Y. Mkwisu of Tanzania. Dr Mkwisu took the course at King's College, UK.

No scholarship was awarded in 2015, but in 2016 three scholarships were awarded: Dr Johana Alzate and Dr Juan Carlos Suarez for support in their third and final year of residency (2017) in aerospace medicine at the National University of Colombia, Bogata, and Dr Tun Htwe (Myanmar) is in the process of applying for an aerospace medicine course.

Scholarship Application Form

Individuals wishing to apply for this Scholarship may print a copy of the Scholarship Application Form in English or French. These forms are in PDF format for which you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader or the full Adobe Acrobat program. Before applying, the applicant must contact the institution where he/she intends to pursue his/her studies and find out if an English test is required. If so, the test must be taken and passed before applying for the Scholarship.

For further information, please contact:

Dr. Richard Tan, Chairman
Senior Consultant to the Singapore Aeromedical Centre, 492, Airport Road, Singapore 539945

Telephone: (65) 6488 0628

News Updates

New Applicant for Review

Members: please login and go to the Selectors section to review new candidate application.

2017 ICASM

The 2017 International Congress of Aviation and Space Medicine will be held in Rome, Italy >> more

View the abstracts for ICASM 2015:
Oral Presentations
Poster Presentations